Latest news about Babolat Cup UK

Babolat Cup UK 2017 Winners Announced


The fourth annual Babolat Cup UK showcased a weekend of high-calibre tennis. Qualifiers from around the country competed in September 2017 for the ultimate prize, a trip to Roland Garros in 2018.
The tournament was relocated indoors on Saturday 16th September due to the untrustworthy British weather. Although the sets were shortened to four, the atmosphere was sharp.
In the boys’ draw, the top two seeds started off with solid performances. Luca Pow and J’Quon Du Vall-Richards dropped only one game between them during their advancement into the quarter-finals. The match of the morning was between Jacob Rogers and Aaron Dawson, a closely fought contest where Dawson edged a victory.
Fourth seed, Jessica Longjohn, had a tight first round against Middlesex’s County Champion, Amelie Brooks, in the girls draw. Although, Longjohn secured her place in the quarter-finals after a competitive third set tiebreak. Aditi Chezhian and Aryana Bartlett, top two girls seeds, also asserted themselves on day one with two convincing victories to see them into the semi-finals.
After a fun Saturday evening of games and magic, our Babolat Cup UK players set out for a second day of stiff competition on Sunday 17th September.
The boys’ semi-finals matches were a spectacle. Both of high calibre, and both matches having viewers heavily engaged. Fourth seed, Viktor Frydrych, dug deep to push first seed, Pow, into a third set tiebreak. Each point belonged on the Babolat Cup UK highlight reel! Frydrych’s valiant effort fell just short as Pow edged the tiebreak to win 6-2, 6-7(4), 11-9, booking his place in the final.
Gabriella Lindley showed greatness on her route to the girls’ final, ousting first seed, Aditi Chezhian, 6-1, 6-4. Second seed, Bartlett, was also fighting for gold with a convincing victory 6-1, 6-1 in her semi-final showdown.
In the finals, Aryana Bartlett became our girls’ Babolat Cup UK Champion with a close three set victory. Luca Pow, national champion, won a convincing final match to become our boys’ winner. We are extremely impressed by our winners for their great fight and enthusiasm throughout the weekend.
We would like to give honourable mention to our two finalists, Aaron Dawson and Gabriella Lindley, and our two consolation draw winners, Daniel Prickett and Amelie Brooks. All players exhibited excellence and great attitude.
Lastly, but most definitely not least, we would like to say a huge thank you to Edgbaston Priory, Leyla Ogan and the rackets team for allowing us to host our event at their prestigious venue. We would also like to thank our referee, Kris Dymond, and his team of officials for their hard work.
Another successful Babolat Cup UK in the books. Thank you to all competitors and parents for taking part in a great weekend and we can’t wait to see our two champions at Roland Garros next year!